River Readings welcomes Rebecca Lindenberg

Rebecca

In Love: An Index, poet Rebecca Lindenberg tells the story of her relationship with the late Craig Arnold, a writer who disappeared while hiking a volcano in Japan. To read her book is to journey back in time with her and witness the evolution of a love affair that is passionate, complicated, tender. Their story is unique in its circumstances, but the raw emotion she captures is universal. Here’s a selection:

KUCHINO-ERABU-SHIMA, an island (See also: VOLCANOES). You called me

from the ferry. I was talking about Zukofsky,

you were saying you hated Zukofsky. You were happy and told me

I would hate it there, the sea was very rough. You said

“I love you, I miss you.” I said, “I love you, I miss you, too.”

You said, “Tell Robin I love him.”

That’s as far as I went with you.

–from Love: An Index by Rebecca Lindenberg

Come hear this gorgeous book read aloud as the 2013-2014 River Readings series kicks off on Tuesday, Sept. 10 at 7:00 PM in the Wilson Center (attached to the College Center). A reception will follow the reading.

To read selections from Love: An Index prior to the reading, login to Moodle and select “Tredway Library” under “Departments and other groups.” Then click on “River Readings.” If you have any questions, please contact me at AmandaMakula@augustana.edu or x7316.

This entry was posted in Displays & Events. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

